Three European nations recognize Palestine, effective Tuesday


Published: 2024-05-28 10:49

Last Updated: 2024-06-25 02:01

A boy holding the Palestinian flag
A boy holding the Palestinian flag

The recognition of the State of Palestine by Madrid, Dublin, and Oslo officially came into effect on Tuesday, provoking anger from Israel.

Spanish Foreign Minister José Manuel Albares stated that recognizing Palestine is a historic step towards achieving justice for the Palestinian people.

Spanish Prime Minister emphasized that the recognition aligns with UN resolutions and is not directed against any party.

He reiterated that the two-state solution is the only path to peace and that Madrid will not recognize any changes to the 1967 borders without an agreement between Palestinians and "Israelis."

These three European countries—two of which are EU members (Spain and Ireland)—hope their decision will inspire other nations to join them, seeing it as a move of significant symbolic importance.

These nations also highlight Spain and Norway's roles in the Middle East peace process during the 1990s, with Spain hosting a peace conference in Madrid in 1991 before the Oslo Accords in 1993.