EU adds Jordan to safe travel list


Published: 2021-06-30 18:19

Last Updated: 2024-04-16 22:00

EU adds Jordan to safe travel list
EU adds Jordan to safe travel list

Wednesday, European Union governments agreed to add 11 countries, including Jordan, Qatar and Saudi Arabia, to the list of nations from which they will allow non-essential travel.

Ambassadors from the EU's 27 states approved the decision at a meeting held Wednesday, with the change to take effect in the coming days.

The 11 countries include Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, Jordan, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, Qatar and Saudi Arabia.

However, Britain is not included in the list due to the sharp rise in the number of coronavirus cases in the country.

EU countries have been recommended to gradually lift travel restrictions for the 14 countries currently on the list, including Albania, Australia, the Israeli Occupation, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and the United States.

Chinese administrative regions Hong Kong and Macau are also in the list.

EU countries can still request a negative PCR test upon arrival, or subject those arriving to it to quarantine.