30 countries to participate in the US embassy’s opening ceremony in Jerusalem


Published: 2018-05-11 19:47

Last Updated: 2018-05-12 09:13

Ten countries have already rejected Israel’s invitation
Ten countries have already rejected Israel’s invitation
Roya News Source

Thirty Ambassadors from 30 countries are set to take part in the relocating ceremony of the US Embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem on Tuesday, 15 May, according to Haaretz.

The newspaper said that some of these Ambassadors are from European Union countries, despite their previous rejection of moving the US embassy to Jerusalem.

Romania and Austria have not yet responded to the Israeli invitation, despite their support for Netanyahu’s government.

US President Donald Trump, his wife Ivanka Trump and their son-in-law Jared Kushner are planning to attend the ceremony, along with several Congress members.

Ten countries have already rejected Israel’s invitation, including Egypt, Russia, Germany, Australia, Poland, Malta, Mexico, Portugal and Sweden.

The Israeli government is preparing for the ceremony amid high security restrictions.

Trump had announced in December 2017 that he would be relocating his country’s embassy to Jerusalem, effectively declaring the holy city a capital of Israel.

Many demonstrations took place in many Islamic capitals to protest the declaration, including in Amman and Istanbul.