Journalists for Human Rights launches 2019 Human Rights Reporting Award


Published: 2019-10-30 09:27

Last Updated: 2019-10-30 09:27

Journalists for Human Rights launches 2019 Human Rights Reporting Award
Journalists for Human Rights launches 2019 Human Rights Reporting Award

Journalists for Human Rights (JHR) has launched the fifth edition of the Human Rights Reporting Award in Jordan with the support of the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

The Human Rights Reporting Award aims to encourage the production of high-quality human rights journalism that has a positive impact within communities through promoting a constructive public dialogue around human rights issues.

General Eligibility: Journalists are invited to submit a story that addresses a specific human rights issue that was published in a print and/or online media outlet.
Journalists are encouraged, but not required, to have included elements of data journalism.
Stories must have been published in Arabic.

Publication Date: Stories should have been published during the period from September 30, 2018 through November 15, 2019.

Submitting Entries: Applicants are invited to fill out the submission form and email their entries to [email protected]

Deadline: The deadline to submit the entries is November 25, 2019 (until 00:00 Amman time).

Date and location of the ceremony: The Human Rights Reporting Awards will be given to the best three human rights reporting stories and will be announced at an official ceremony on December 10, 2019, which marks Human Rights day.

The three award winners will receive vouchers with the following amounts:

  • $ 1000 for the 1st place winner.
  • $ 500 for the 2nd place winner
  • $ 250 for the 3rd place winner.

Eligible format of stories: applicants are required to submit their stories published through one of the following mediums:

  • Print – newspapers or magazine publications: submissions must include a PDF copy of the stories.
  • Online – websites: submissions must include a URL address of an appropriate website that contains the story.

The committee will consist of representatives from media and academia and will be judging the stories based on the following criteria:

  • Degree of difficulty in obtaining content matter.
  • Effective use of storytelling techniques, including clarity and narrative.
  • The breadth and scope of research undertaken.
  • The degree of change or action created from news coverage.
  • The legal knowledge.
  • Supporting material and resources used including creativity, originality and innovative reporting tools, such as data journalism.