King meets Iranian Foreign Minister


Published: 2022-12-20 20:24

Last Updated: 2024-04-18 16:01

King meets Iranian Foreign Minister
King meets Iranian Foreign Minister

Tuesday, His Majesty King Abdullah II, during his meeting with Iranian Foreign Minister Hossein Amir-Abdollahian, stressed the importance of the Baghdad Conference for Cooperation and Partnership in continuing to support Iraq.

During the meeting, His Majesty pointed out the importance of the conference in discussing regional cooperation mechanisms, in order to achieve common interests, in addition to the need to find political solutions to the region's crises, and building regional relations that consolidate security and stability.

The meeting also discussed bilateral relations and a number of regional issues of common concern.

Jordan hosted the Baghdad Conference for Cooperation and Partnership in its second session in the Dead Sea.

The first conference was held in August 2021 in Baghdad, at the invitation of His Majesty King Abdullah II, and in coordination with French President Emmanuel Macron and Iraqi Prime Minister Muhammad Al-Sudani, and in their presence.

This conference is held to confirm support for Iraq, its sovereignty, security, and stability, and to develop cooperation in a way that enhances security and stability and contributes to the development process in the region.

A number of leaders, representatives of countries, and regional organizations are participating in the conference. The participating countries include Egypt, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Turkey, and Iran.

Additional participants in the conference are the Secretary-General of the League of Arab States, the Secretary-General of the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf, and representatives of the United Nations and the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, in addition to the European Union.

The opening session of the conference will be attended by the ambassadors of the Arab countries, the European Union, the G20, and the permanent members of the Security Council accredited to the Kingdom.