Saudi to reopen May 17, but several Arab countries still banned


Published: 2021-04-23 11:24

Last Updated: 2021-05-17 03:18

Source: SPA
Source: SPA

Saudi Arabia is scheduled to reopen its borders to international flights on May 17, after closing them to halt the spread of the coronavirus. 

However, according to reporting by The National, travelers coming from countries on Saudi's 'red list' will still be banned.

Similarly, anyone who has been to one of the countries on the red list within the last 14 days will also be banned. 

The countries on the red list include the UAE, Egypt, Lebanon, and France, in addition to the US, India, Pakistan, the UK, Indonesia, Germany, Japan, Ireland, Italy, Argentina, Brazil, Portugal, South Africa, Sweden, and France. 

"Nationals, their families and domestic employees, medical practitioners and diplomats will still be exempt as long as they undergo a 14-day quarantine on arrival," according to The National. 

Arrivals must still present a negative PCR test and have downloaded the country's COVID-19 app, within which one must document their daily health status. 

Saudi Arabia records roughly 1,000 new cases per day, with about 10,000 active cases in the country.