Jerusalem named Permanent Capital of Arab Heritage


Published: 2018-03-25 19:53

Last Updated: 2018-03-26 09:48

Panoramic view of Jerusalem showing the Dome of the Rock
 Panoramic view of Jerusalem showing the Dome of the Rock
Roya News Source

The League of Arab States has awarded the accolade of permanent Capital of Arab Heritage to Jerusalem as part of the preparation for Arab Heritage day 2019. The decision was reached in a meeting held in Cairo on March 12.

The response is largely motivated by the US decision to relocate their embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem and hopes to invigorate intra-Arab tourism as Jerusalem becomes a destination for cultural and artistic performances.

The adoption of Jerusalem as permanent Capital of Arab Heritage aims to promote the Arab identity of the city and defend and protect its Islamic and Christian heritage.

On the anniversary of the League of Arab States on March 22, the Arab League Education Culture and Science Organization (ALECSO) expressed their determination to join the efforts in support of the Palestinian people for the liberation of their land and the establishment of an independent state, with Jerusalem as its capital.

ALECSO also stated that the current circumstances experienced by the Arab region require greater solidarity, coordination, integration, awareness of the real problems, and action to overcome them.

Palestine is expected to be a brimming hub of Arab culture in the upcoming years. In addition to Jerusalem becoming a permanent Capital of Arab Heritage, Bethlehem has been named Arab Capital of Culture for the year 2020.