Citizens of 80 countries can enter Qatar visa-free… except you, Jordan!


Published: 2017-08-10 09:39

Last Updated: 2017-08-10 12:33

Some Arab countries are included in Qatar's new visa system.
Some Arab countries are included in Qatar's new visa system.

Jordanians wishing to visit Qatar will have to apply for a visa, unlike citizens of 80 other countries, who can now enter the Gulf state visa-free.

Qatari officials announced on Wednesday that, effective immediately, nationals from countries including the UK, Canada, Turkey, China and others needn’t apply for a visa; instead, “a multi-entry waiver will be issued free-of-charge at the port of entry, upon presentation of a valid passport with a minimum validity of six months and a confirmed onward or return ticket,” reported Reuters.

Hassan Al Ibrahim, Acting Chairman of Qatar Tourism Authority said, "With 80 nationalities eligible for a free visa waiver upon arrival, Qatar is now the most open country in the region and we are delighted to invite visitors to discover our renowned hospitality, cultural heritage and natural treasures."

Qatar’s new visa system is divided into two types, depending on the nationality of the visitor.

The first is a multiple-entry visa that’s valid for 180 days and allows the tourist to spend a total of 90 days in Qatar.

The second will be valid for 30 days and entitle the visitor up to 30 days (multiple-entry) in Qatar. However, visitors can extend their stay for an additional 30 days, with conditions.

In November 2016, Qatar’s newly-introduced “free transit visa” allowed passengers of all nationalities transiting through Qatar for a minimum of five hours to stay in the country for up to four days.

In May 2017, Qatar’s national carrier, Qatar Airways, and QTA launched “+Qatar,” a package which includes a free night´s stay in a 5- or 4- star hotel in Doha, alongside a complimentary transit visa.